Lodge your complaint in writing

We investigate a consumer complaint against a telecommunications operator if there is sufficient evidence to establish a prima facie case on possible breaches of any provisions under the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap. 106) or any conditions under the telecommunications licence held by the concerned telecommunications operator. We may take regulatory actions against the concerned operator if such breaches are substantiated. To help us accurately and efficiently assess whether your complaint involves possible breaches, you are requested to lodge complaints in writing.

Your complaint should give all the information as given under the heading of 'Information required from you' in this guideline. The complaint can be sent:

Post Address by post to : Consumer Affairs Division
Office of the Communications Authority
29/F, Wu Chung House, 213 Queen's Road East,
Wan Chai, Hong Kong
Fax Number by fax to : 2110 4239
Email Address by email to :

Alternatively, you may make use of the consumer complaint form posted on CA's web site (https://apps.coms-auth.hk/apps/complaints/complaint.asp) or obtainable through our fax-on-demand service (please call 2961 6333, press 9 for 'Information by Fax').

If you have difficulty to express yourself in writing, you can contact our Consumer Affairs Division for assistance by calling 2961 6333. Our staff will fill in a complaint form for you. When you give an account of your complaint over the phone, please keep it under 15 minutes. To ensure accuracy of the complaint details, your conversation may be recorded and the completed form will be sent by post or by fax to you for your confirmation and signature.

The operating hours of the Consumer Affairs Division :
8:30 am to 5:45 pm, Monday to Friday (except public holidays)

CA's role in consumer complaint handling

As the telecommunications market of Hong Kong is now fully liberalized and highly competitive, we have adopted a light-handed approach in the regulation of the telecommunications industry. We rely on market forces and competition wherever possible to enhance and safeguard consumer interest. We shall not intervene the business operation of telecommunications operators, unless the market forces fail to ensure that our policy objectives are met.

CA does not have a statutory responsibility for consumer protection. But we shall investigate into a complaint case with a view to taking regulatory action if there is sufficient evidence to establish a prima facie case on possible breach of the laws and regulations under CA's jurisdiction.

For other consumer complaints not involving any breach of telecommunications laws or regulations, we believe it is the responsibility of the operators to settle them with their customers. We take note of all complaints we receive. When abnormal complaint trends are observed, we shall follow up the matter with the operators concerned and consider regulatory action if appropriate.

What is outside CA's legal power/scope of service in respect of consumer complaint handling

CA's power and functions are limited to those provided for under the Telecommunications Ordinance and licence conditions. In particular, CA has no power or role in the settlement of contractual disputes between individual customers and the operators. Examples of matters which are beyond the power and functions of CA are given below:

以書面方式作出投訴

若消費者提出的投訴個案具充分表面證據證明某電訊營辦商可能違反《電訊條例》(第106章)下任何條文或其持有的電訊牌照的任何條件,通訊 局會進行調查。若證實有違規行為,通訊局可以對有關營辦商採取規管行動。為使通訊局能準確和有效率地判斷投訴人的投訴是否涉及違規行為, 須以書面方式作出投訴

請提交一切所需資料,並透過下列渠道作出投訴:

郵遞 郵遞 香港灣仔皇后大道東213號
胡忠大廈29樓
通訊事務管理局辦公室
消費者事務科
傳真 傳真 2110 4239
電郵 電郵

此外,投訴人亦可登入通訊局網站(https://apps.coms-auth.hk/apps/complaints/complaint.asp)透過通訊局的自選傳真服務(致電2961 6333, 然後按「9」字,選擇「以傳真索取資料」)取得「消費者投訴表格」。

如投訴人在書寫方面有困難,可致電2961 6333向通訊局「消費者事務科」尋求協助,通訊局的職員會為投訴人填寫投訴表格。當投訴人透過電話 作出投訴時,須在15分鐘內簡要陳述投訴內容。為確保通訊局為投訴人筆錄的投訴內容正確無誤,電話對話可能會被錄音,而填妥的表格亦會郵寄或 傳真給投訴人確認和簽署。

「消費者事務科」的辦公時間:
星期一至五上午8時30分至下午5時45分(公眾假期除外)

通訊局在處理消費者投訴方面的角色

香港電訊市場已全面開放,競爭激烈,通訊局因而對電訊業採取寬鬆的規管手法,盡可能依賴競爭及市場力量促進和保障消費者權益。除非市場 力量未能確保達到政策目標,否則通訊局不會干預電訊營辦商的業務運作。

保障消費者並非通訊局的法定責任。但若有充分表面證據證明營辦商可能違反通訊局職權範圍內的法例和規例,通訊局就會進行調查,以決定是 否採取規管行動。

至於不涉及違反電訊法例或規例的其他消費者投訴,通訊局認為營辦商有責任予以排解。通訊局留意所有投訴個案,若發現有值得關注的異樣情 況,會與有關的營辦商跟進,並因應情況,考慮採取規管行動。

通訊局處理消費者投訴的法律權力 / 服務範圍

通訊局的權力與職能,只限於《電訊條例》和牌照條件所列。通訊局無權調解個別客戶與營辦商之間的合約糾紛。超越通訊局權力與職能的例子 包括: