The Communications Authority respects personal data privacy and is committed to fully implementing and complying with the data protection principles and all relevant provisions of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance and codes of practice issued by the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data in handling all data collected, including all personal data submitted through this website. To this end, the Communications Authority undertakes to:

  1. collect adequate, but not excessive, personal data by lawful and fair means only for lawful purposes related to the Authority’s functions or activities;
  2. take all reasonably practicable steps to ensure that the personal data collected or retained are accurate, having regard to the purposes for which they are to be used;
  3. erase personal data which is no longer necessary for the purposes for which they are to be used;
  4. use the personal data collected only for purposes or directly related purposes for which the data was to be used at the time of collection, unless the individual concerned has given express consent for a change of use or such use is permitted by law;
  5. take all reasonably practicable steps to ensure that personal data is protected against unauthorised or accidental access, processing, erasure or other use;
  6. take all reasonably practicable steps to ensure that a person can be informed of the kinds of personal data that the Authority holds and the purposes for which the data is to be used; and
  7. permit persons to access and correct personal data of which they are the data subject and process any such access/correction requests in a manner permitted or required by law.

The Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA) is the executive arm of the Communications Authority. Personal Data may be shared between the Communications Authority and OFCA.

Personal data collected by this website

The Communications Authority will record visits to this website without collecting any personal identifiable information of users. Such general statistics are collected for the compilation of statistical reports and the diagnosis of problems with or concerning computer systems to help the Communications Authority improve this website.

For different purposes and at different times you may be invited to provide personal data to the Communications Authority through this website on a voluntary basis. Personal data may include names, telephone numbers, mailing addresses or e-mail addresses. We will specify the collection purpose and intended usage of your personal data when we invite you to provide such information and advise you how you may request access to or correction of the personal data provided.

Unless permitted or required by law, the Communications Authority will not disclose your personal data to any third parties without your prior consent.

This website uses the Transport Layer Security (TLS) protocol to encrypt data during network transmission to protect your personal data. All personal data you provide to the Communications Authority via this website is secured, and access to your personal data is restricted to authorised personnel only.

A search service, which is provided by an independent contractor, is available from this website. Subject to applicable laws, any data collected through the provision of such search service may be used for compiling website traffic analysis or other legitimate purposes by or for the Communications Authority and the Government. The Communications Authority and the Government will not match the data obtained from any such search activity with any personal data possibly held by them.

Access to/correction of personal data

You may request access to and correction of your personal data held by us. Such requests should be made in writing to our Personal Data Officer by filling in the respective application forms. Application forms are also available at the counter at 29/F, Wu Chung House, 213 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong.

The following photocopying charge may be levied in relation to your application:

The standard fee of photocopying in black and white on A3 and A4 papers shall be HK$1.3 and HK$1.1 per photocopy respectively unless otherwise provided by enactment or approved by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury. The above charge is subject to revision from time to time.

References to "Communications Authority" in this Privacy Policy shall be construed to include the Office of the Communications Authority, as the context may require.

通讯事务管理局(「通讯局」)尊重个人资料私隐,并致力在处理所收集的一切资料(包括所有透过本网站递交的个人资料)时,全面落实和遵守保障资料原则、《个人资料(私隐)条例》的各有关条文,以及由个人资料私隐专员发出的实务守则。为此,通讯局承诺:

  1. 以合法和公平的方法收集足够但不超乎适度的个人资料,而该等资料必须只为与通讯局的职能或活动有关的合法目的而收集;
  2. 在顾及个人资料所作用途的同时,采取一切合理可行的步骤,确保所收集或保存的资料准确无误;
  3. 删除不再需要作原有用途的个人资料;
  4. 除非有关人士已明确同意改变资料的用途,或该等用途得到法律准许,否则通讯局只会把所收集的个人资料用于收集该等资料的目的或与其直接有关的目的;
  5. 采取一切合理可行的步骤,以保障个人资料不会为未获准许的人士查阅、处理、删除或作其他用途,也不会意外地为人查阅、处理、删除或作其他用途;
  6. 采取一切合理可行的步骤,以确保任何人能获告知通讯局所持有的个人资料种类,以及该等资料会作甚么用途;以及
  7. 准许任何人查阅和改正以他们为资料当事人的个人资料,并以法律准许或规定的方式处理该等查阅/改正个人资料的要求。

通讯事务管理局办公室(「通讯办」)为通讯事务管理局的执行部门,通讯办和通讯事务管理局会共用所收集的个人资料。

本网站所收集的个人资料

通讯局会记录使用者浏览本网站的次数,但不会收集任何可识辨使用者身分的资料。所收集的浏览次数记录只会用于编制统计报告和调查电脑系统问题,以助通讯局改善本网站的服务。

通讯局可能会因应不同目的,于不同时间邀请你透过本网站自愿提供个人资料。此等资料可包括姓名、电话号码、邮寄地址或电邮地址。我们邀请你提供个人资料时,会说明收集此等资料的目的和拟作的用途,并会告知你如何要求查阅或改正已提供的个人资料。

除非法律许可或有所规定,通讯局不会在未得到你的同意下向第三者披露你的个人资料。

本网站使用传输层保安(TLS)通讯协定为经由网络传送的资料加密,以保护你的个人资料。你透过本网站向通讯局提供的一切个人资料均会保密,只有获授权人士才可查阅。

本网站的搜寻服务由独立承办商提供。在符合适用法例的情况下,透过该搜寻服务收集所得的数据可能会由通讯局及政府使用,或由他人为通讯局及政府使用作网站流量分析或其他合法用途。通讯局及政府不会把从任何上述搜寻活动收集所得的数据,跟任何可能由通讯局及政府持有的个人资料配对。

查阅/改正个人资料

你可以向通讯局要求查阅或改正你的个人资料。请填写适当申请表格,以书面形式向通讯局的个人资料主任提出要求。申请表格亦可于香港湾仔皇后大道东213号胡忠大厦29楼接待处索取。

索取资料复印本时,收费如下:

除法例另有规定或经财经事务及库务局局长批准外,每张A3或A4纸张黑白复印收费分别为港币1.3及1.1元。这项收费会不时调整。

视乎文意而定,本私隐政策中对「通讯局」的提述,须解释为包括通讯事务管理局办公室。