How to lodge a complaint

To help the Communications Authority ("CA") and the Office of the Communications Authority ("OFCA") as the executive arm of the CA to effectively conduct a fair and reasonable assessment of whether a complaint may be processed, complainants should lodge the complaints as soon as possible and submit any information which has been or can be obtained by them. They should also take note of the following:

  1. the complainant should be the subject party of the case (e.g. the registered customer, purchaser or promotion target of the service, etc.);
  2. under special circumstances, the subject party may authorise another person to lodge the complaint on his/her behalf if he/she is unable to do so personally. However, the subject party will be required to provide written statement(s) to OFCA or officers of other enforcement agencies, and to act as a prosecution witness in court proceedings, where necessary;
  3. please provide the contact information of the complainant (including the name, correspondence address, telephone number, email address, etc.);
  4. please provide details of the broadcasting/telecommunications licensee under complaint, and the names and contact information of any individuals who may be of assistance to the investigation;
  5. please explain the facts in relation to the complaint in as much detail as possible, including the date, time, place (such as the location of the retail shop), person(s) involved (such as the name of the salesperson), and a chronological description of the conduct of the broadcasting/telecommunications licensee or their staff which the complainant considers is in contravention of the “fair trading sections” of the TDO;
  6. please submit the complaint form together with copies of all the relevant documents and information; and
  7. please keep the originals of the relevant documents and information properly. The complainant may be requested to provide OFCA with the originals for verification and/or for submission to the court, as and when necessary.

Complainants may fill in (1) the Online Complaint Form , or (2) the specified complaint form and send it by one of the following means:

by post or by hand to: Office of the Communications Authority
29/F, Wu Chung House,
213 Queen's Road East,
Wan Chai,
Hong Kong.
by fax to: 2123 2187
by email to:

 

Alternatively, the complaint form is obtainable through our fax-on-demand service, please call 2961 6333 and press '9' for "Information by Fax".

In case you have difficulty in writing, you may contact us by calling 2961 6333 (from 8:30am to 5:45pm, Monday to Friday except public holidays). Our officers can help fill in the complaint form for you. To ensure accuracy, the completed form will be sent by post or by fax to you for your confirmation and signature.

For enquiries, please call 2961 6333. After selecting your preferred language, please press '7' for the TDO.

How the CA handles a complaint

Disclaimer

The description of the "fair trading sections" of the TDO on this webpage / in this article is for general reference only. You should refer to the relevant provisions of the TDO for a complete and definitive statement of the law.

Disclosure of Identity and Personal Data

All documents or information (including any personal data) supplied by the complainant will only be used for the purposes which are directly related to the complaint concerned. They may be transferred to parties who will be involved in the processing or the investigation of the complaint, including the broadcasting/telecommunications licensee under complaint, relevant government departments and statutory bodies as well as other agencies which are authorised to receive the information for the purposes of law enforcement and prosecution. The complainant and the subject party (if not the complainant) should state clearly whether they permit the CA to disclose their personal data/documents/information to any party relevant to the complaint. If the complainant or the subject party does not permit the CA to disclose the information related to the complaint and if such non-disclosure would cause difficulty in the CA’s processing of the case or investigation, the CA will advise the complainant whether it can proceed with the handling of the complaint.

The Privacy Policy of the CA is set out at: https://www.coms-auth.hk/en/privacy_policy/index.html.

如何提出投诉

为协助通讯事务管理局(「通讯局」)及其执行部门通讯事务管理局办公室(「通讯办」)有效及公正合理地评估能否跟进有关投诉,投诉人应尽早投诉并提交任何已取得或可取得的资料,并注意下列事项:

  1. 投诉人应是事件中的当事人(例如:相关服务登记者、服务购买者、服务推广对象等);
  2. 在特殊情况下,当事人如未能亲身投诉,可授权他人代为投诉。但在有需要时,当事人须向通讯办或其他执法机关人员提供书面供词,并在诉讼程序中担任控方证人;
  3. 请提供投诉人的联络资料(包括姓名、通讯地址、电话号码、电邮地址等);
  4. 请提供所投诉的广播/电讯持牌人的详细资料,以及其他可能有助调查的人士的姓名及联络资料;
  5. 请尽量详细说明投诉的事实依据,包括日期、时间、地点(如零售店铺的位置) 、所牵涉人士(如营业员的姓名),以及顺时序描述投诉人认为违反了《条例》的「公平营商条文」的广播/电讯持牌人或其员工的行为;
  6. 请连同投诉表格提交所有相关的文件和资料的副本;及
  7. 请妥善保留有关文件和资料的正本。如有需要,通讯办会要求投诉人提供有关文件的正本以作查证及/或呈堂之用。

投诉人可填妥 (1)网上投诉表格 或(2)指定的投诉表格,并透过下列其中一项渠道提交:

邮寄或递交至: 香港湾仔皇后大道东213号胡忠大厦29楼
通讯事务管理局办公室
市场及竞争部
传真至: 2123 2187
电邮至:

 

此外,投诉人亦可透过通讯局的自选传真服务(致电2961 6333,然后按「9」字选择「以传真索取资料」)取得投诉表格。

如投诉人在书写方面有困难,可致电2961 6333与通讯办联络(星期一至五上午8时30分至下午5时45分,公众假期除外)。通讯办的职员可为投诉人填写投诉表格。为确保内容正确无误,填妥的表格会邮寄或传真给投诉人确认和签署。

如有查询,请致电2961 6333。在选取合适语言后,请按「7」字选择《商品说明条例》。

通讯局如何处理投诉

免责声明

有关本网页/本文对《 条例》内的「公平营商条文」的说明,只供一般参考之用。请参阅《条例》的相关条文,以了解法例完整和明确的陈述。

披露身分及个人资料

投诉人提供的所有文件或资料(包括任何个人资料),只会用作与个案直接相关的用途,它们可能会被转交至跟进 / 调查个案过程中涉及的其他人士,包括被投诉的广播/电讯持牌人、相关政府部门、相关法定组织、以及因执法、检控而获授权接收有关资料的其他机关。投诉人和投诉的当事人(若非投诉人)应清楚表明是否同意通讯局将其任何个人资料 / 文件 / 资料披露给与投诉有关的任何一方。如投诉人或当事人不同意通讯局披露有关投诉的资料,而这会对通讯局的跟进或调查工作造成困难,通讯局会让投诉人知道能否继续处理其投诉。

通讯局的私隐政策载于:http://www.coms-auth.hk/tc/privacy_policy/index.html