## **Explanatory Notes**

To gauge public views on the services provided by the three domestic free television programme service licensees<sup>1</sup> and the two sound broadcasting licensees<sup>2</sup>, the Communications Authority (CA) adopted a multipronged approach in conducting a public consultation exercise in 2021, including –

- (a) Opinion Survey an independent consultancy firm was commissioned to conduct an opinion survey to collect public views on the licensees' services;
- (b) Online Public Consultation Session an online public consultation session was conducted on 25 September 2021 to gauge public views on the licensees' services;
- (c) Focus Group Discussion a focus group discussion was organised with members of the Television and Radio Consultative Group (TRCG)<sup>3</sup> on 15 October 2021 to obtain more in-depth views on the licensees' services; and
- (d) Written Submissions members of the public were invited to provide their views to the CA through web-based forms, email, fax and mail.

The CA received a total of 460 submissions from the public. The executive summary of the opinion survey and the summary of public views collected are uploaded onto this website for the public's information.

The CA has given careful consideration of the public views collected and assessed the performance of the five licensees against the various statutory requirements as well as requirements under licence conditions and codes of practice and the investment commitments of the licensees in making recommendations on the mid-term review exercise to the Chief Executive in Council.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> They are HK Television Entertainment Company Limited, Television Broadcasts Limited and Fantastic Television Limited.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> They are Hong Kong Commercial Broadcasting Company Limited and Metro Broadcast Corporation Limited.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> TRCG provides in-depth qualitative input on television and radio programming to the CA in its consultation exercises. Members are drawn from all 18 districts of the territory.